(UPDATE: As of January 1, 2016, the 31-day window has been abolished.)
When you are charged with DUI in Illinois, the Secretary of State automatically suspends your license. The suspension starts on the 46th day after your arrest and can last six months, a year or even longer (especially if you don’t pay the reinstatement fee).
If this is your first DUI, you may qualify for a breath-activated ignition interlock device (BAIID), which will allow you to keep driving as long as you breathe cleanly into the device in order to start your car. But even if you qualify for a BAIID, Illinois law specifies that you cannot use it until the 31st day of your suspension.
Therefore, you have a 30 day-window, starting on the 46th day after your arrest, where you absolutely cannot drive.
But there may be one thing you can do. If you are charged with DUI, it is imperative that you consult an experienced DUI attorney immediately. An attorney can file a petition seeking to overturn the driver’s license suspension. If the petition is granted, then you will not lose your driving privileges. While the petition may be a long shot, the odds of success depend on you getting in as soon after your DUI arrest as possible.
If you have questions about this or another related criminal or traffic matter, please contact Matt Keenan at 847-568-0160 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
(Besides Skokie, Matt Keenan also serves the communities of Arlington Heights, Chicago, Deerfield, Des Plaines, Evanston, Glenview, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Niles, Northbrook, Park Ridge, Rolling Meadows, Wilmette and Winnetka.)